Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Never before the advent of inventions in science and technology, the hand-held tasks were automated. In my opinion, although such enhancements are beneficial in terms of saving time, it has far more serious drawbacks such as sedentary lifestyles and environmental damage. Admittedly, time-saving is the basic benefit that comes with using machines. This is because of their multi-functional operations with which household chores can be executed with lesser efforts, as opposed to work done manually in early times. As a result, people are not only able to do things against the clock but also multi-task. For instance, dishwashers have made washing tableware easy for men/women upon the click of a button, which simultaneously enables them to focus on other activities as well. Hence, had it not been for the creation of these gadgets, people would not be able to complete their work on time. Nevertheless, I believe that the usage of these household appliances has more disadvantages. First, while people have become dependent on the technology they refrain from executing work manually. Consequently, these individuals become lethargic and unfit. For instance, washing machines, dishwashers, cooking stoves have contributed to almost zero physical exertion which makes hand-held chores less strenuous for people. Thus, if such machines would not have come into place, it might not have added credence to an inactive lifestyle of a person. Second, automated machines affect the environment to a large extent. The reason for this can be attributed to the excess consumption of energy taking place. Also, If these appliances are not recycled in the future, they tend to deplete the ozone layer. To exemplify, the halocarbons in the refrigerator contribute to the greenhouse effect, thereby resulting in global warming. Therefore, the environment is severely impacted by the usage of such electrical units. To conclude, in my opinion, despite time-saving being an advantage, the invention of machines in recent decades has added more disadvantages such as deterioration of the environment and people becoming physically less active as compared to the past.