Many famous sports players advertise sports products. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

More and more popular athletes endorse sports merchandise. This essay will discuss the advantages of the endorsement are revenue generation and encouragement whereas the disadvantages are excessive commercialisation and exposure which, however, are far outweighed by the former. Sportspersons are a great inspiration for all people. Needless to say, people tend to buy items that are advertised by their favourite sports star which often results in generating revenue not only for the company that sells the goods but also for the sportsperson. Moreover, being able to watch their inspiration on TV and holding the same products as endorsed by them is very motivating and encouraging. For example, following the Boost advert by cricket star Sachin Tendulkar, many young people started drinking Boost. There is a plethora of brands and products in the market today. On one hand, endorsing too many products makes one famous but on the other hand, it results in too much exposure for the players. In addition, it is often seen in a bad light as one tends to think that they are more occupied with shooting for adverts rather than playing sports. This, in turn, can lead to people turning away from you instead of looking up to you. For example, everyone appreciates seeing a sports star in up to 5 adverts but once it becomes more than that, people tend to say that the person is not serious towards sports. In conclusion, most famous athletes advertise sports goods. Main advantages, as stated above, being a generation of income and providing motivation for all which far outweighs the disadvantages like over-exposure and commercialisation.