Many people think that the government should spend more money on providing faster means of public transport. Some others think that there are important priorities(e.g.cost, environment). Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Transportation is crucial in the contemporary era. A group of people opine that the civil authorities should spend funds on locomotives for safe and ease in travelling, while others reckon that there are other things like the environment, education, pollution et cetera that the municipality should spend on. I deem that the governing authorities must allocate more funds for public transport as it yields in some money for the government and faster means of transportation could also help in increasing the gross domestic product of a nation. First of all, people travel usually by bus, train, metro et cetera for both long and short distance travel. In addition to this, public transport not only connects rural areas but also urban areas with each other. Although a lot has been done so far, traffic is a nuisance in most of the developed cities. To reduce this traffic civil bodies must increase the volume of public transport instead of spending money on other ventures like building a park or a sports arena. Secondly, by increasing the frequency of public means of travelling government earns revenue. Moreover, fewer vehicles hit the street thus reducing the pollution in the air. For example, with the advent of bus rapid transit system (BRTS), the number of vehicles plying on the road decreased by 20% in Brazil. On the other hand, we also have supposed to fund public parks, gardens, fountains and other aesthetic projects to add beautification to cities. Public expenses should also increase in delivering quality education and employment to the youths. As the number of trees are chopped down to make way for development project pollution is on the rise. Since there are fewer trees we need to plant more trees to increase the foliage of the city to curb pollution. For instance, the Indian government spent about 1 million rupees to plant a tree around Pune city thus reducing its pollution level. To recapitulate, although it is necessary to plant trees and worry about global warming more funds need to be allotted to make the public transport more smooth and favourable. This not only increases the revenue of the government but also takes care of reducing the number of vehicles on the roads.