In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst younger generations. Why is this happening? Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a trend of used clothing is emerging among teenagers. Although many might consider it negative, I believe it to be an extremely beneficial,not only because of its effects on buying power of people and a more variety of clothing but also because of the quality of used clothes. This essay will explore how these factors make this development a positive one. Firstly,one of the major advantages of this advancement is its positive effects on the financial status of the younger population.Youngsters mostly are dependent on their parents,so to buy new clothes, is sometimes difficult due to expensive brands.They prefer to buy clothes from their pocket money.Take the example of Finland,where adolescents are extremely fond of wearing used clothes. Thus, this benefit can almost single-handedly make this evolution positive. Secondly,another major merit linked to this development is the diversity of clothing.Imported used clothes have a huge variety which is not possible with new clothes,so youngsters are more inclined to those. For instance,a recent article published in the New York Times showed the extreme level of interest by the youth for second -hand clothing due to its variety. Hence, diversity in clothing matters a lot for teenagers. Finally, second -hand clothes have superior quality than new local cloths. This factor is also one of the causes of likings by the young generation because used clothes are usually imported from other developed countries. To sum up,I believe that this development is an overall positive advancement not only in terms of financial benefits and offering a huge variety but also because of super quality.