Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided as to whether sports are a crucial part of our society or only trivial recreational activities. I believe that sports serve a significant role in society, not just a form of entertainment. On the one hand, it is understandable why some people consider participating in sports is merely a way to unwind. This is because these people are non-sportspersons, who are not into competing against others in a sports game. Their sole aim is to seek pleasure brought by the secretion of a hormone called serotonin when doing physical activities to lift up their mood. In addition, people who underestimate the importance of sports simply consider playing sports as a way to establish relationships with those who can solve their hurdles. For example, in some conversations after football matches, participants can talk about their problems at work, seek advice from their peers and figure out a way to deal with their difficulties. Therefore, people would not agonize over the problems and be able to enjoy their lives to the full. Thus, for those who only regard sports as a way to seek help from others and pleasure, it is indeed their leisure pursuit. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that sports have profound effects on society such as reducing unemployment and improving humans’ lives. First, crossnational sporting events grab the attention of sports enthusiasts around the world and motivate them to travel to the host nation and savour their events of choice. This means that more people would be needed to prepare for the sports events and cater for travellers’ demands, creating more job vacancy for the jobless. Besides, doing sports helps citizens of a country be more mentally able to contribute to their motherland. In particular, if scientists have fresh and relaxing minds after workouts, they can boost their creativity and invent some new technological devices to relieve the burdens in life. Hence, sports can transform our society into an advanced one by offering job opportunities and facilitating our way of living. In conclusion, in my view, sports activities not only are a way for people to ward off stress and exhaustion, but also contribute substantially to the development of socie ty.