These days, fooddays, food travels long distances before reaching consumers, and it is therefore believed that consuming locally grown food would bring about a number of economic and environmental benefits. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages ?

It is certainly true that packed foods travel long distances before being consumed by consumers. It enhances our appetite issues, money loss, fuel wastage etc. Nevertheless, if we switch to locally produced foods can bring great change starting from economic benefits to environmental advantages. In this essay, we will discuss both sides. To begin with, locally grown foods contain fewer pesticides and chemicals as it is produced by the farmers of our locality. For instance, a study conducted by the National Health Ministry of India proved that, Individuals who consume locally produced food had a good appetite with reduced health problems than those who had taken long-travelled foods. Moreover, plenty of money can be saved by focusing on local foods, the reason being it is directly bought from the agronomists leaving no chance of additional costs. Furthermore, it doesn't have to be transported miles of distances saving fuel consumption. And is not covered with plastic wraps, creating an environmentally friendly atmosphere. On the other hand, distance travelled food could be expensive as it had an immense journey, resulting in the additional cost of fuel, and travelling charge for everything on the item. An article published by the Times of India found that the food items that travelled long distances had tons of chemical presence than locally grown veggies and fruits. This study gives an awareness about the importance of health and it should not be compromised or taken for granted. In conclusion, it is good for the environment and our own well-being to depend upon locally produced food rather than imported food items. However, a limited variety of food items can only be consumed through this process. At the same time, a seasonal diet rejuvenates our body and forges to get rid of the monotonous diet we had.