Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Experts throughout both developed and developing world have debated whether an individual’s personality and development are more influenced by genetic factor then the environment. Although scientists now proved to understand the importance of inherited characteristics more than ever before, my own view is that there is no one major influence in a person’s life, but that both aforementioned factors have powerful effects. Research, relating to identical twins, has highlighted how significant inherited characteristics can be for an individual’s life. However, whether these characteristics are able to develop within the identity of an individual surely depends on whether the circumstances allow such a development. For example, recent empirical research by Oxford University demonstrated that the experiences people have in lifespan are so unpredictable and powerful, that they can boost or override other influences. This is why it can be argued that human psychology and mental development is influenced by more than one main factor. Nevertheless, the traits we inherit from our parents and the situations and experiences that we encounter during a lifetime are constantly interacting. It is the interaction of the two that shapes a person’s personality and dictates how that personality develops. If this were not true, for instance, then we would be able to predict the behaviour and character of a person from the moment they were born. Therefore, this makes it clear genetics and environmental effects are in interrelationship. In conclusion, I firmly believe that either nature or nurture is the major influence on a person, but that both have a strong impact. Meanwhile, how these factors interact is still unknown and remain largely unpredictable in a person’s existence.