Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People believe that fixed punishments for each crime are required, while others feel that penalities are to be given in accordance with the situations and motivation of the misdeed. This essays deals with both sides with examples. Under the penal code, there are certain punishments given accordingly to the crimes committed to ensuring that they do not re-offend in future. The felony laws are enforced in countries, to protect the innocents and punish the offenders. As a result,the case rates have decreased to a certain level. For example, in Saudi Arabia, under the Islamic tradition capital penalties are carried out conceding with the specific violation such as public heading, pelting stones, lashing etc. So in this country,the wrongdoing rates are very low when compared to the developed countries. In contrast, Venezuela, has the highest atrocity rate worldwide, with an increase in kidnappings and murder cases. This is because of the current political corruption and poor socioeconomic status. However, even though these crimes have been diminished in Saudi Arabia, the question of violation of human rights, for the offenders have attracted a lot of international criticism mainly from the United Nations and Amnesty International. It is said that fair trials are sort of prohibited to criminals even when they are wrongly convicted. In conclusion, I believe that once a person is convicted, he or she must be penalised based on the motive and the position they were in to commit the case with the correct punishments under fair trials. The human right of the offenders must also be taken into account when sentencing.