Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Whether people are dependent on others or not in the contemporary world had become controversial. Some believe that people are less dependent due to the development of technology. However, I am of the opinion that people are more dependent on others because people nowadays specialize in limited areas and have to rely on others' specialities. On the one hand, technology makes it possible for people to resolve problems without receiving help from others. For example, according to a report by the New York Time in 2018, 80% of New York residents would google in the first place when they face difficulties, and 87% of them do not need extra helps after searching for the solutions. Besides, online service such as online shopping and online booking makes asking help from a less necessary option. Thus, people nowadays apparently are independent of others. On the other hand, in the post-industrial society, jobs are categorized as detailed as they can. As a result, every section of society tightly links with each other. In other words, people cannot completely be independent. For instance, a survey by Harvard University in 2016 represented that 98% of meals which were self-cooked on American's tables depended on food-producing chains, which included planting, transporting, packing, and selling. Nevertheless, even those who produce food by their own efforts have to buy seeds, fertilizers and planting equipment from others. Therefore, I believe that people considerably rely on others. To summarize, due to the ascend and development of technology, people consider they are independent. Nonetheless, in my mind, because of the high-level specialization in contemporary society, people are heavily reliant on others.