Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

In today's fast-paced world, there are many new designed and upcoming products which are bought through attractive advertisements from various competing companies. I think the adverts play a major role in persuading buyers to purchase these products. Advertising is a key part of modern business. They inform us about the plethora of choices available in the market. The creative art of an advert employs many people. There are certain programmes that promote good hygiene and habits. The negatives are that it manipulates people into buying the latest merchandise. For instance, the innovative idea of Apple devices makes the consumer to immediately invest and show-off their status. Also, with the celebrities showcasing the latest trends, influences the younger generation to become conscious of the brands they buy. Under peer pressure, they are to be associated with certain brands to get a higher status. Nowadays, these commercials target children showing fight scenes, toys and unhealthy fast foods making them pester their parents to obtain them. This leads to an unhealthy lifestyle(diabetes and obesity) and also not many people can afford the manufactured good because of their low income. In order to prevent these, the Governments must make it appoint to regulate them. The promotion of these bad habits aiming at children must be either controlled or banned. Undesirable foods must be regularised in a way they do not attract the younger generation. The products risking health should display the warning. For example, cigarette packets have the warning signs displayed. In conclusion, although the advertisement is a form of modern art and a necessary in free-market economies, with proper governance and supervision, they are to be telecasted in a way they do not harm all.