Some people believe that excessive use of modern technologies, such as computers and smartphones, is negatively affecting the reading and writing skills of our young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the tremendous influence of technology, many changes have been taken place. Nowadays, the majority of youngsters prefer to use mobile phones and personal computer for performing their tasks. Some people consider that the over usage of these gadgets have an adverse effect on language skills of adolescents. In my opinion, however, these devices have both advantages and disadvantages as regards to writing and reading skills. On the one hand, I agree that excessive reliance on this equipment is responsible for poor performances in writing and reading of young individuals. As many of them have become addicted to these devices. Since mobile phones have a small keyboard to type messages, some of them use acronyms to send messages to their friends and relatives. As a result, they even don't know the spelling of commonly spoken words. What's more, the programs such as Microsoft word processor now have spell-checkers, students do not even worry about their spelling mistakes and as of this they have not been able to develop their writing habits. Besides this, reading also needs more attention and requires regular practise in order to fully developed skills. Nevertheless, it is being perceived as boring and laborious activity amongst youth and like to easy and instant access to videos and movies. Since this kind of activity pushes the book further down the list of preferences of the Young audience. On the other side, although new technology tools have negative faces, it also provides positive sides such as E-Book reader helps the children to develop the habit of reading. Besides this, digital sources can also improve the writing skills, there are myriad of websites that support the individuals to read and write. Dictionaries, for instance, are particularly famous to learn new words from online sites. To sum up, Both aspects have some benefits and drawbacks but I think technology tools really help the young generation to improve their language skills.