Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Moving to a foreign country for better education and employment opportunities has become increasingly popular. Although this trend may be of some advantage, it largely poses several social and practical obstacles owing to the language barrier. I completely agree with this assertion and believe that great difficulties are caused to the new immigrants in their daily lives by these language problems. To begin with, several social setbacks are the mainsprings of living in a new country. The unfamiliarity of people with the foreign language makes it difficult for them to develop social relationships, as a result of which depression and feelings of loneliness begin to settle in; for example, Pakistani students moving to Germany lack in acquaintance with the German language. This not only causes hurdles in developing friendships in universities, but in the neighbourhood as well, which in turn results in home-sickness. Therefore, if such linguistic challenges continue to make social life so difficult, living abroad would gradually become an unfavourable choice. Notwithstanding the social hurdles that lack of acquaintance with the new language impose, it is also crucial to note the practical challenges that this trend may cause. How would it be possible for the newly shifted individuals to execute the most trivial household chores at a new place if they are unfamiliar with the language spoken there? Opening a bank account, for instance, may become a tedious task due to the language differences; hence, it is due to these differences that not only in social lives, but numerous challenges are faced practically as well. To conclude, living overseas is now becoming incredibly widespread. Despite providing some benefits, I absolutely agree that the existing language barrier makes it challenging for the people to meet their social and practical needs of life.