In some countries, some of the criminal cases in the low courts are shown on the television, so that the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times,the discussion about criminal activities is often done in popular media across the world.Several cases dealing in various offences are broadcasted live on channels for public awareness. Although some might consider it negative development,I believe it to be extremely beneficial,not only because of its merits in creating detterance among criminals, but also its advantages of learning about legal matters. This essay will how these mega advantages have the potential to outshine any drawback. There are multiple advantages to this advancement. Firstly,a major benefit associated with this evolution is terrifying the criminals about various punishments and sentences. This detterance utterance will create a sense of fear in their heart when they watch live cases of courts on electronic media.Take an example of Finland,where a media channel is dedicated to live - broadcasting of court cases and this activity has reduced the crime rates significantly. Thus,live- programmes can cause detterance among criminals. Secondly,another major merit linked to this advancement is gaining knowledge about various crimes and legal matters.Electronic media can play a positive role in delivering information about legal affairs. For instance,a recent survey conducted by the University of Stanford revealed a significant rise in the popularity of media channels dealing with legal matters. Hence,media can impart knowledge to the viewers about the offences and sentences,and can almost single-handedly undermine any flaw. However,the only minor drawback that I can relate to this development is the inappropriateness of certain things on television.People of various ages watch television so can be disturbing for adolescents.But this problem can be more than compensated by applying censorship on certain channels. To sum up,I believe that the advantages of live-broadcasting court cases in terms of creating detterance and the awareness of the public have the potential to outweigh any disadvantage.