People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

The consumption of sugary drinks has experienced an upward trend since it was introduced to the public, which has had adverse effects on people’s physical health. This essay will discuss the causes and methods to tackle this problem. People are purchasing more sugar-based drinks because of the increasing variety and the wide availability of the products. Firstly, many firms are competing with their competitors by launching originally formulated recipes. This fulfills customers’ various preferences and attracts those who want to have different taste experiences. One good example of this is that Coca Cola has increased their sales over the years by offering the market a wide range of flavors. Secondly, the convenience of buying sugar-sweetened beverages has made them even more prevalent. Soft drinks nowadays can be easily found in vending machines, convenience stores, and most of the retailers. This means people can conveniently grab a bottled or canned drinks on their way out at a supermarket or stop by a vendor on the street to have some sugary refreshments. The variety of choices and easy access have made the community consume more of sugar-based drinks. There are several solutions to alleviate the negative impact of these customers’ behaviors. First, healthy choices of drinks should be encouraged in the general public. Promotion and better placement of these in retailers may attract more people to buy them as alternatives for the sugar-sweetened ones. Moreover, relatively high taxation on unhealthy drinks can contribute to the reduction of manufacturing and selling these. Also, this leads to higher prices on the market, which may make people have less tendency to buy them as often as they used to. These methods may help put the usage of sugary drinks under control and orient people to a healthier lifestyle. To conclude, sugary drinks are consumed widely because of their various options and convenience. However, this situation can be controlled by strategic solutions to encourage healthy drinks and restrict the unhealthy ones.