In the future we may have to live on other planets. For this reason, some people think it is necessary to spend money on research about space. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that it is important to invest in an investigation about space as there may be a scenario that we may need to live on other planets. This essay strongly agrees with the aforesaid statement. Discovery of water on Mars along with the analysis of data from other planets is indicative that they may be able to support life and all such activities need a huge amount of funding. Astronomical data from Mars proves it has water which, in turn, has led scientists to believe that there may be a possibility that life either existed on that planet or the planet may be favourable to supporting humans. Moreover, extensive research is being done on this subject, with different countries sending their satellites in a competition to discover this first. Apart from Mars, several other planets are being researched for a possibility that they may be able to sustain our presence. All this research on space is, needless to say, very expensive as it involves a lot of equipment, fuel, machinery and not to forget, experienced astronauts and researchers. Furthermore, it often involves a lot of experiments and test runs which also consumes time and needs resources. For example, launching a single satellite can cost anywhere between 10 million to 400 million dollars. In conclusion, keeping in mind that there may be a time in future where we may need to live on other planets, I definitely agree that we need to spend money on research about space. We have evidence that there may be life on other planets and all this needs money.