Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your opinion

It is often believed that enquiring workers of their personal details such as their leisures, interests and marital statuses while hiring is important, whereas some regard them as futile. Although not acceptable to all, I agree with the latter assertion and opine that asking such personal questions have got nothing to do with the job a worker does. To begin with, asking the personnel regarding their hobbies, interests and marital statuses is of crucial value. Not only does this help in assigning duties in the departments of their interests, but also hold utmost importance while setting extra work hours for employees; for instance, a married worker can easily object to late sitting sessions if he has kept the organisation abreast with his marital status since the beginning. Hence, enquiring employees about their personal details not only provides clarity to the employers, but is of incredible feasibility to employees too in terms of their overtime working hours. Conversely, and as I opine, asking for candidate’s personal data when employing is useless. Instead, it is their educational qualifications and relevant experience that should be prioritised. This means that knowledge and experience would eventually lead employees to succeed and prosper, ultimately having a positive influence on their organisation’s prestige. For example, according to a recent poll conducted in the US, majority of the workers preferred not to be asked such personal questions as a part of their employment criteria; therefore, if the benefit to the company’s esteem is regarded, it is only the relevant degrees and experience that play the most essential role. To conclude, personal inquiry of employees is considered indispensable by some, whereas refuted by others. Despite being denied by some, I agree with the latter assertion and believe that such queries are useless and irrelevant to ask workers during employment interviews. 298 words