Some people think that arts (such as painting and music) do not improve people's life and, therefore, government should not spend money on it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Artists like painters, musicians and performers are an asset for any country and play a pivotal role in the recognition of the nation. Whilst some people advocate the need for diverting federal funds to get more people to join these streams. I, however, opine that the government should spend money on more pressing matters, which includes public transport, healthcare system and judiciary. This essay will discuss the aforementioned, along with examples and supporting arguments. Although art forms are believed to be, by most people, something out of which earning a living is somewhat difficult, the truth is certainly different from the said notion. With the introduction of social media platforms such as Instagram, Facebook, TikTok and Twitter, the possibility of earning for artists has become increasingly easier. To exemplify, high-end brands nowadays are more inclined towards spending their marketing budget to get endorsements from people who are popular on social media platforms instead of getting a big banner on a highway. This shift in the trend has consequently resulted in creators being able to earn a modest living. Furthermore, government institutions have a plethora of problems to deal with, like illiteracy, maintenance of heritage sites, availability of healthcare facilities and so on. The available funds should be designated towards solving more crucial issues. For instance, in a country like India where people face huge shortages of drinking water and electricity throughout the region, spending tax money on arts can be viewed as the misuse of monetary resources by the citizens. In conclusion, I firmly agree with the notion that governing bodies should ensure the focus of their resources towards proving basic essentials to its citizens before taking up issues such as arts and music. However, I do acknowledge the fact that emphasizing on the need to educate people on the benefits of adopting these streams can substantially reduce the risk of going into depression.