Stores should sell local food products and not the imported food products. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that the vendors should sell local consumables instead of imported products. Even though there is an economic benefit in investing in domestic products, the increasing popularity of imported edibles cant be ignored. Hence, I partially agree with this notion. On the one side, there are several benefits to the local food suppliers when the import is restricted. Firstly, the demand for local goods in the retail surge at a tremendous rate when imported goods are reduced or completely excluded. For instance, in the UAE, 50% of the fruits and vegetables are imported from Asian countries. A restriction to imports will make domestic products more dominant and also encourages its producers to increase their supply. Additionally, there is an income circulation within the country, bringing economic stability. Therefore, it is very suitable to consider selling local food products over imported ones. On the other side, the increasing popularity of imported products makes them more desirable to people, making them ready to spend more to get it. As a result, if supermarkets chose not to sell imported consumables, the customers will go online to buy them as it is a very reliable and convenient option, alternative to local substitutes. Furthermore, there are certain products which can only be produced under certain atmospheric conditions and with peculiar materials. For example, the bacteria required for producing traditional parmesan cheese is not available in every country. Hence, it is not always viable to ignore International products. To conclude, although stores should try every possible way to support their local products to get into the market, it is not always feasible to ignore the growing needs of consumers towards foreign consumables. Instead, the government should take other initiatives to aid the local producers than shutting off the imports.