Psychological illness may not be as obvious as physical disabilities or illness, nevertheless they are just as disabling in their own way. Society , however , is more accepting of those with physical than psychological illness or disabilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that individuals with physical defects are more acceptable in the society in contrast to those with mental ones. The main root of this trend is that psychological illnesses are considered to be complicated to comprehend by most people. Speaking personally, I rather agree with this statement because in reality, it is true that most people are assured that mentally disabled people are unstable. Firstly, humankind does not treat equal things that out of their understanding. Having a full notion about why some people are physically flawed, they are generally accepted by society and have the same liabilities. Nevertheless, the majority of society may show contempt upon mentally disabled individuals because they do not have an idea of how their sickness affects. To exemplify, if a person has a physical disability such as paralysis, the cause is quite straightforward; however, the mental disability is uncertain, so people are not sure how to treat mentally disabled individuals due to its uncertainty. Secondly, we might feel that disabled people are unstable. Actions of people who have psychological illnesses are usually unpredictable, therefore, society does not fully accept them. For instance, obsessive-compulsive flaw changes the function of a brain, resulting in undesirable ramifications such as undeliberated actions, that is not common in physical illnesses. By these means, people prefer to not accept mentally disabled as equally as physically. To conclude, I believe that people tend to not treat psychological flaws as physical ones because they do not understand these issues as well as consider mentally disabled individuals unpredictable.