Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views

There is an opinion that, besides making profits, businesses also have responsibilities to the community, which remains a topic of debate. From my viewpoint, while generating profits should be a top priority for any company, they also ought to conduct their business in a socially responsible manner. On the one hand, the efforts of companies to maximise their profits may bring certain benefits to society as a whole. Firstly, the higher the profits a company earns, the more taxes it pays to the government. As a result, the authorities will have more revenue to invest in essential sectors such as education and healthcare, thereby improving the quality of life for all citizens. Secondly, when businesses earn large profits, they have greater opportunities for expansion. For example, companies can use this capital to expand production and create more job opportunities for the public. On the other hand, there are several important reasons why businesses should take social responsibility seriously. The first reason is their impact on the environment. Without strict control, business activities can cause serious environmental problems, such as global warming or pollution, due to irresponsible waste disposal. For instance, if factories install proper waste treatment systems instead of discharging toxic chemicals into rivers, water pollution can be significantly reduced. Another reason is that successful businesses should support less fortunate people in society, as they have the financial means to do so. For example, large corporations like Unilever and Vinamilk have improved their public image by engaging in philanthropic activities such as offering scholarships and donating to charity. In conclusion, although I recognise that generating profits is the fundamental principle of doing business, i would argue that all businesses should profoundly reflect upon their social duties.