Today more and more old cities are being rebuilt and redesigned in order to be modernized. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In this modern world, a huge amount of towns are being revamped just to look modern and new. Most people are extremely excited about the whole idea where there are a few who are not. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and the downsides of this matter. Firstly, there are a lot of advantages to reconstructing an old town. One of the positives is reviving the beauty of the landscape with new high tech buildings which will enhance the image of the surrounding. With modern technologies, communities are able to access to amenities that can help improve their lives. Take Toronto as an example. People are able to travel much faster using the subway and also the transportation system is recognized worldwide. Secondly, by redesigning the heart of the nation. This will act as an attraction which can attract a large number of tourist to the. In fact, the more tourist present, the more revenue the civic center will gain. Businesses such as hotels can flourish only if there are people who are willing to spend and stay in the urban area. On the other hand, there are also disadvantages to remodelling a metropolitan area. One of the negatives is the sense of identity of a particular area will be lost. Every municipality has its own unique history, if every town in the world is being rebuilt, the future generations will not be able to witness the past and the stories behind every township. In addition, a huge amount of money will be needed to rebuild a city. Taxpayers' money to be exact. The government will have to increase the tax so as to cover the expenses of the construction. For example, the construction of ION tram in Waterloo. The whole project cost $20 million and the Mayor of the Region of Waterloo had to cut the budget of the sectors in order to fund the tram project. All in all, it is never easy to rebuild a city. The pros, in which, the city will look new and fresh to the cons, whereby, the diminishing of the town's identity and extreme spending need to be considered seriously.