Some people think the most important skill nurses should have is having good medical knowledge. Others believe there are other more important qualities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

All over the world, you find nurses in medical clinics and hospitals going about their daily task supporting patients in all matters. Some people are of the opinion that nurses should only be skilled medically, where others believe that they need to be equipped with more essential skills. I think nurses should acquire not only medical skills but also other important qualities. This essay will discuss both views of the argument in detail. Clinical skills in nursing are cardinal important, as it can either save or cost a life. Nursing is a challenging profession that requires a variety of medical knowledge, as they need to perform certain procedures and sometimes under pressure. For example, they need to know how to draw blood or to dress a wound they also need to get vital signs from the patients such as blood pressure and heart rate. Furthermore, nurses are a vital link between the patient and the doctor, and must be able to communicate medical terms or to conduct procedures as required by the doctors and specialist. Nurses are at the frontline when it comes to medical care and support. However, to be a successful and happy nurse, you will need certain soft skills. Seeing that they work directly with the patient, they need personal skill such as empathy and respect, to name a few. A caretaker needs to understand what a patient experience and put themselves in their patient's shoes during treatment. Moreover, critical thinking skill is essential in the nursing field because that is what you need to prioritise and to make decisions that can save lives. For example, if someone in care would experience a heart attack, the nurse will take a swift decision and react correctly. The complete wellbeing of the patient is within the hands of the nurse, including the emotional aspect. In conclusion, some people will argue that the essential skill of nurses should only consist of a broad medical knowledge where others will differ. I believe that a nurse should require more than just clinical abilities but also needs life skills to support those in need. They could be the last friend a patient will have before dying.