Buying things in the internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this ways outweigh the disadvantages?

E-commerce is nowadays gaining momentum and the acceptance level is increasing exponentially. Each and every commodity and service is available for sale over the internet in current times, not only the younger generation but our elders as well now prefer shopping online. Whilst some believe that several disadvantages are associated with this trend, I, however, opine that the aforementioned transition is providing us with higher comfort. This essay will elaborate on the advantages, along with the comparison and relevant examples. Firstly, along with the advancement in technology, businesses decided to switch their focus from traditional methods to provide solutions over the internet. This approach not only included offering products that a person can buy and get them delivered to his desired address but also a plethora of services as well. As a result, a higher percentage of humans chose to sit in the comfort of their homes and let the businesses reach them via their computers. For example, if we look at Amazon, it not only provides almost every product known to us but the also facilitates amazing services such as next -day delivery and global shipping. Therefore, eliminating the need to visit the physical store for an individual, furthermore, playing a vital role in creating space for other service providers to take benefit of this dynamic shift in purchasing patterns. On the contrary, I do acknowledge there certainly are a few downsides to this, which includes the lack of human touch in the entire consumption cycle, turning increasingly more people into introverts. In addition to this, it also generated the need for online payments which further gave birth to cyber frauds. When an elderly person, who is less technically educated, is encouraged to use these services end up falling victims to cyber traps and end up losing his hard-earned money. For instance, as per a research conducted by the justice department of India, the number of cases related to cybercrime has risen over five times in a duration of last one year, giving rise to doubts on whether we should accept this change or not. In conclusion, I firmly believe that, though there are numerous downsides, the advantages far outweigh the negatives. Although, the presence of online criminals might make it unsafe to entirely adopt the change, ensuring safety while transacting online should the prime focus of the organizations and governing authorities. Considering the recent advancements, I am confident that a time where everything is available at a click of a button, is just around the corner.