More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think the children should learn technology skills. What are the advantages and disadvantages

It is indeed true that technology plays an integral role in children’s lives, and undoubtedly they are permitted by their parents to spend some time on gadgets. I believe this is a negative development. Being able to be up to date with the latest technology is its advantage, and having a detrimental effect on their health and studies is the drawbacks of it. On the one hand, allowing young kids to play on mobile phones is advantageous. This is because, today, technology made everything accessible for young children by watching informative videos on youtube such as, to solve the puzzle and learning a new hobby, this is possible only when they are permitted by their parents. Due to this, will they not only be familiar with new technology and become tech-savvy but also it helps to broaden their horizon. For example, a recent article by the New York Times reported that Z generation is having 30% more potential to operate new technology very well than the Y generation. On the other hand, rendering millennial to spend some time with gadgets is harmful. Due to the fact that playing video games is the biggest addiction for all, the more access to the phones and laptops, the more easily concentration will be lost from studies, and this also prevents them from having peer connection. For example, it has frequently seen that children who spend some time outside have a better friend circle than those who are addicted to video games on mobiles and laptops. Overall, I believe that it is a negative development, this is because playing on mobile phones or computers means children will be restricted from doing any outdoor activities and due to not doing movements they might become obese. This not only results in them being introvert and that would be a hindrance for them later when they become adult but also they are more incline to have health issues. In conclusion, although permitting children to spend leisure time to play on gadgets is beneficial as they become familiar with the latest technology, distracting concentration from studies and being not to be able to physically fit which I think is a negative development.