Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that tertiary education students should choose the subjects according to their interests. However, others think that only specific courses should be studied as it would be great for their career perspectives. In my opinion, even though subjects like science and technology have bright futures, students should be allowed to study whatever they desire, since it would help them to excel in their field and become extraordinary stars. It is inevitably true that scientific fields are well recognized globally and acquiring degrees in these fields might brighten the career pathway of students. It is because, in the last few years, the demand for such courses has been increased dramatically. As the result, more jobs are available for the graduates, and they are unlikely to remain jobless. For instance, in Australia, medical fields are in demand and they are hiring medical professionals from all over the world. However, a student could have a better future in any field only if he founds it interesting. In other words, subjects like arts, sports or music could also bring success; it only depends upon the students’ interests and passion. To illustrate this, a famous Pakistani actress, Mahira Khan, became a superstar and well-known film producer after studying film making and drama in university. If she has chosen any science-related field as her career, which would have been against her will, she would not have become a successful individual. In conclusion, although fields like science and technology may benefit students in their career prospects; students ought to study any major that matches their interests as it can build more talented graduates.