More people are traveling today than ever before. Why do you think this is?

There is no doubt there has been an upward trend in the rate of people who travel as opposed to what it used to be. This is caused by a massive reduction in airfare, rooms, and an urge for status. With respect to aeroplane tickets, people are now opportune to visit different countries without breaking the bank. In the past, it is often believed that tourists are people with status and wealth. However, with the advent of tourism, which countries across the world have seen as a form of income, nations have partnered with airlines to reduce their fares so as to increase the number of tourists. Korea, for instance, bears about 50% of the cost of logistics to its country. As a result, more people see the need to travel. Aside from the cheap airfare, another very expensive part of travelling which is a place to stay has faced a lot of competition in recent times. Hotels that use to serve as the only form of lodgings to commuters now have technology-driven room-sharing applications such as Airbnb, which allow people travelling to stay in a shared apartment for a far cheaper price. Thus, it has encouraged more travelling as it is not all that costly. Finally, with the advent of social media sites like Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter, people are eager to post pictures of places they visited. The consequence of this is that friends and other internet users feel the need to also visit such places. Research shows that most visited tourist centres get their customers from friends of people who visited and took several pictures from such sites. Millennials are always competitive on the internet, thereby travelling to snap pictures in such places to attain a position among their counterparts. In conclusion, while it is a common phenomenon these days for people to travel, it is evident that cheaper accommodation, transportation and long for social media prominence is the most contributing factor.