More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks

There has been an increase in the number of students choosing to study abroad. In my opinion, I think that studying abroad can bring more advantages as compared to any disadvantages it might bring. Despite the drawbacks below, I believe it is beneficial for students to study in a foreign country. Firstly, it will make them more independent, as they will be completely out of their comfort zone. For instance, as per an article in New York Times, students who move out of their parent's house at a young age tend to be more successful than the once who stay in their comfort area for long. Secondly, studying abroad will give students exposure to a different culture. Although it is difficult initially to adapt to a new culture, eventually it helps one to gain a new perspective about life. Admittedly, there are some issues involved with students studying abroad. One problem is that it might lead to children getting distant from their family. In most of the Asian countries, for example, family values are given a lot of importance and kids stay with their parents even after getting married. But once an individual decides to study abroad, they prefer to work in the same country. Another negative aspect is that it could bring stress on the economic conditions of a country. In most of the developing countries income from education forms an enormous part of government collections. Therefore, if more students decide to study abroad, it takes away a major part of the countries income which is spent in another country. In conclusion, learning to be independent and gaining knowledge about various cultures far outweighs any of the downside studying abroad can have.