Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problem does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local product?

People are inclined towards the products from large enterprises as they spend a hefty amount on the promotion and marketing of their products. This essay will discuss the problems faced by local business owners due to this trend. This will also suggest the solutions to these causes in order to encourage sales of the local products. The local product manufacturers often suffer the downside in their sales due to low budget on their product promotion strategies as compared to these giant businesses. For example, the local cotton textiles in India always suffer losses as they are lesser-known in comparison to renowned "Bombay Dyeing¨. Moreover, the high popularity of big manufacturers leads to the poor economical growth of local vendors, in some cases, they even end up with total losses. For example, the electronic market in India comprises majorly of the Multinationals like LG or Samsung, whereas, the local businesses like Micromax did not survive long enough. However, solutions to these problems can only be achieved by the joint efforts of government and citizens of the country. For instance, the government should provide subsidies to local vendors for their product promotion. In addition to that, awareness must be created among people to prefer local over others. For instance, generic medicines in India are cheaper and 100 per cent similar to the one's produced by the big pharmaceutical companies but then also former are less preferred due to lack of awareness. In conclusion, there is a significant revenue imbalance between local vendors and large manufacturers. This essay discussed the reasons why local producers find it challenging to make considerable sales compared to their giant rivals. Subsequently, this essay suggested how government and citizen together can bring change and revive the local economy.