Some people think that certain criminals should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind the bar. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that the crime rate has soared in recent time. It is sometimes thought that all offenders do not require prison time, instead, they would be allocated to do voluntary services. In my opinion, I consider it is beneficial because this acts as rehabilitation and learn some skills to earn money after coming out Jail. Firstly, all jail mates may not commit any major evil, therefore, it is a good idea to place them on some unpaid work. This is because when they participate insuch activities, they may get a chance to repent their mistakes and they can change their mentality and become a responsible citizen and set an example for others. For instance, offenders of petty crimes such traffic offences, shoplifting, can be selected to work in some factories or hospitals Eventually, they become master in that field, later on, after the prison time this work experience can assist them to find a better job. Secondly, if the pretty felony offenders are placed along with brutal murders or rapists, they can manipulate others and often their mind would be conditioned to re-offend after going from there. This scenario can do more damages then working unpaid jobs. For example, the results of recent studies showed that sharing a room with cold-blooded criminals have a huge negative impact on others. They often do not understand the gravity of their wrongdoing and its repercussions on the victims. In conclusion, some people believe that those who are arrested for non-violent crime do not require complete locked down, instead, they can do some community services. I strongly think that this would help them to understand their mistakes while learning new skills.