Nowadays, experience is more valued in the workplace than knowledge in many countries. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

According to a study published by Demographic Employment Union, 78% of employees prefer to hire someone with experience in the field compared to a degree-holder. Based on this study, it is demonstrated that in this era, work experience is more essential for a job than mastery. This essay will discuss how the advantages outweigh the drawbacks of this situation. To begin, the main reason why having knowledge is essential is due to the fact that one needs to comprehend the basics of the field they are working in. For example, a health professional needs to have an understanding of the human body before they can treat a patient. In addition, they are 85% more likely to get promoted higher based on their qualifications in contrast to a non-degree individual. For this reason, it is apparent that education is a key to success in life. Furthermore, it is undeniable that having an experience in the working field is valued more than education, this is because they are numerous skills that one cannot be taught, an individual acquires those abilities only after working for a long period of time. To illustrate, a study done by The Times Business Review reported that, communication skills was not a superior skill of high-scoring graduates, 58% businesses are more in favour of giving a position to an individual with expertise in the field. Based on this study, it is evident that if a company is hiring, they are more likely to consider an experienced individual over a graduate. To conclude from the aforementioned arguments, I firmly believe that having an exposure to the work is far more essential than knowledge, as skills such as communication cannot be learnt from the book, that can only be gained from experience.