The best way for government to solve the problem of traffic congestion is to provide free public transport in 24 hours per day, and 7 days a week. Do you agree or disagree ? (approximately 250 words)

It is sometimes argued on whether the policy of cost-free mass transit could be the best measure to avoid the issue of traffic jams or not. While I agree that this could be a good scheme with many associated benefits, I believe that other methods can be solutions for such a problem as well. On the one hand, there are many perks to having public transport at no cost. Firstly, free public transit could draw attention from citizens and people may opt for using them rather than driving private vehicles to save money. As a result, this could ameliorate the occurrence of traffic congestion in many cases traffic problems are caused by the presence of a large volume of private vehicles on the roads. Secondly, mass transit such as buses or the subway usually has a large capacity to accommodate a large influx of passengers commuting at the same time of day. This might greatly help the government to reduce thousands of people moving on-peak hours. On the other hand, in addition to the above advantages of using public transport, I believe that other measures also could be solutions for mitigating traffic issues. From a societal perspective, governments should publish stricter traffic regulations. For example, parking restrictions can be implemented to minimize the impact of parking movements on transit vehicles and to provide space needed for other types of vehicles due to that one main cause of delays to transit vehicles is waiting while private vehicles manoeuvre in and out of parking spaces. From a personal perspective, it is not just governments that are responsible for easing traffic circulation as individuals play a crucial role as well that each one should raise mass awareness on obeying traffic rules to ease traffic congestion. For instance, if each individual strictly complies with the traffic laws, such as no rushing to overtake, no going in the wrong lane, and obeying traffic signals, the problem of traffic jams will be greatly alleviated. In conclusion, although free mass transit could help to minimize traffic congestion, governments and citizens should work out together for more measures to improve the traffic situation.