Nowadays, people are spending increasingly large amounts of money on their marriage parties. Many people feel large and expensive weddings cause problems for the bride and groom. Do you agree? Use personal examples in your response.

For many people having lavish birthday parties or weddings has become a social status symbol. In order to maintain their social image, people tend to spend more than what they intended to spend. In my opinion, although celebrating marriage parties or birthdays is justified, I believe big and expensive weddings create stress and cause problems for the bride and groom. In today's world, social networking has become an integral part of everyone's life. Everybody, from young teenagers to retired old people are on social networking websites such as Facebook or Twitter. People are under a lot of pressure to maintain their social image and sometimes share fake posts about them so that they can maintain their image. Furthermore, people have big destination weddings to look good on social media, for which they pay large amounts of money and because of this,they get a lot of pressure. For instance, my friend took a personal loan to have his marriage at a palace in Jaipur. He was quite tensed because of this expensive wedding. Nevertheless, creating a budget before planning a wedding and not spending money on useless things might help the bride and groom to reduce the strain. In other words, one should plan the wedding according to their budget and not take any unnecessary loans in order to look good on social media. Additionally, spending more to impress people should be controlled. These small plannings can help people to minimize stress during their wedding. For example, I also had a small marriage reception in which only a handful of guests were invited and I was under no pressure during that time. In conclusion, one should celebrate their wedding as it happens once a life. However, I believe spending large amounts of money does cause stress for the bride and groom.