In some countries, owing a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Nowadays, accommodation becomes one aspect determining the success of an individual’s life. In some countries, including Thailand, having our own house is more important than renting one. From my point of view, there are many reasons why people choose to own houses, such as pretending to be wealthy, this might cause drawbacks that far outweigh the benefits. To begin with, many people decided to buy a house with a spacious area or a detached house to persuade their relatives or colleagues that they succeed in their lives. Some are ostentatious, pretentious and like to show everyone how rich they are, even though, they are not. Moreover, some are fond of living in high society or privileged life, consequently having a house give them an opportunity to survive among affluents. By doing this, especially middle-classed people or poverty-stricken, they have to loan a large amount of money from the bank in order to pay for their accommodation. Take one of my cousins, for example, she only received 20,000 baht for her salary, but she decided to mortgage from a bank to own not only a house but a studio as well, with the aim of convincing everyone that she is a prosperous person. After many years of going into debt, her home and studio were taken from her by the bank and now she is renting an apartment instead. In conclusion, preference for homeownership might be beneficial for rich, but for disadvantaged people, certainly like to show off, might be worse. Some might disagree with me, but I think having a fascinating accommodation is not the key indicating the success in people’s lives.