Do you believe that professional athletes make good role models for young people? Support your opinion with reasons and examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent decades, the trend of playing sports among children has increased considerably. Having professional athletes as their idols might be one of the reasons for this increasing trend. From my point of view, I believe that these sports players are role models in both positive and negative ways. In the following paragraphs, the reasons and examples to support these ideas will be discussed in detail. To begin with, a large number of young people desire to follow their professional athletes due to trustworthy and good spirit personalities. Many top athletes worked hard and practised more than eight hours a day to achieve their goals. Take Messi an example, he is the shortest Argentina’s football player; however, he capitalizes in this aspect to be the greatest football player in the world. Moreover, he ignored all of the harassment and bullying about his characteristic. This is a good example for children to follow. On the other hand, not all professional athletes are admiring role models. Some of them are famous for playing sports and take advantages of this aspect to be involved with drugs and violence. Moreover, some sports players took either hormones or illegal medicine in order to strengthen their physical bodies, and of course, won a lot of medals from an enormous competition, such as the Olympic Games. As a consequence, children should not follow and admire them as heroes. In conclusion, being a professional athlete can be either good or bad role models for the young generation. All thing considered, athletes should be well-behaved and well-mannered owing to be children’s idols and persuade them the play sports.