Education, from preschool through university, should be paid for by the government and therefore free to students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education is the necessity of life and is the future of any nation. Right from primary education to the university courses, education must be sponsored by the government. This essay will argue why free education is the foremost requirement in today's world irrespective of some potential obstacles. Some people believe that if education is financially supported on the national level, it can have an adverse effect on its quality. Also, there would be more qualified personnel for an individual job vacancy. In other words, the supply would be more than the demand. For instance, for a simple job of a clerk, there would be an enormous number of applicants. However, for the laborious chore or lower segment of work, there would be a scarcity of workforce, for example, for works such as cleaning, loading and unloading, there would be lesser number of interested persons. On the other hand, if the state provides free education, it would be available to every individual, who cannot afford it otherwise. For instance, the management courses in India cost a fortune, making them available to privileged ones only. The country-wide sponsored learning can be accessed by more students; hence improving the literacy rate of the country and thus spreading general awareness among a major section of society. For instance, an article in TOI about population control suggested that birth rate is inversely proportional to the literacy rate. To conclude, education is the fundamental right of every individual. This essay argued why the government should pay for education from preschools to university. Free education is beneficial for a nation, despite a few practical challenges.