Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both sides of this argument and give your own opinion.

This essay will continue the discussion outlined on the latest debate which has recently aired on television relating to the use of computers for learning. It will especially argue about the utmost important advantages that can be gained, and the drawbacks of using smart screens for education. To begin, there has been a growing media coverage which as has had an impressive influence on people's attitude towards the negative impact of excessive use of smart devices for educational purposes. Many studies have shown that children or adults that are engaged in smart devices for long hours can have medical problems. To illustrate, a study published by the New Scientist magazine reported that, if an individual spends more than 4 hours a day in front of the screen then they are at risk of developing mental health diseases such as anxiety, depression and sleep disorders. For this reason, it is important to study on paper as much as possible, and use computers for other tasks, as long hours spent on laptops can result in dangerous medical issues. Furthermore, on the contrary, it is undeniable that there is an impressive collection of learning material accessible on the internet, so keen learners can study from home via digital screens and never have to stop educating themselves. For example, in June 2020, BBC News reported that 78% of educational institutes in the UK during the Covid-19 pandemic, decided to continue teaching on online platforms which resulted in many benefits, one of them being high-scoring exam results, as people had more time to self-learn and apply their knowledge. Based on this report, it can be inferred that using computers for educational needs can result in fruitful results for learners, and if more teaching is done online in the future, it will only result in positive outcomes. In conclusion, I firmly believe that both arguments relating to the use of digital processors for gaining knowledge can have numerous positive end-results, but can also have many disadvantages such as mental instability.