Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that children will learn better when they watch TV regularly and therefore should be allowed to watch TV at home as well as at school. Personally, I totally disagree with this point of view and this essay will shed some light on this statement to support my idea. To begin with, a great deal of advocates is inclined towards the fact that watching TV can sometimes be detrimental to kids’ health, morale, and personality. According to scientific research, the digital screen of TV emits a lot of blue light, which can be harmful to children’s eyesight. Also, kids may suffer from backache or muscle pain if sitting in a wrong position, even become obese since being lack of exercise when focusing much on TV. Besides, some programs are designed to solely serve the needs of entertainment, not for educational purpose; hence can contain violence and adultery image that can leave a severely bad effect on children’s concentration and motivation on their studying. On top of that, watching TV, particularly at schools, is capable of alleviating the interaction between teachers and students. This can create difficulties for teachers to control and grasp the learning level of students, therefore, they may find it hard to modify their teaching styles and strategies that stimulate their learners’ situations. Pupils will also easily be discouraged from reading when being used to watching TV to absorb knowledge instead of working with textbooks. Juxtaposition, classroom-based learning is always considered to be the most efficient and effective approach for children to obtain knowledge, where disciplines are strict and no distraction from digital devices is allowed. Thus, children should spend more time on classroom-based learning rather than watching TV. In conclusion, watching TV are likely to bring an enormous number of negative effects on the health and learning situations of the children. Therefore, they should not be encouraged and should be restricted the amount of time watching TV at both home and school.