Many people find it hard to balance their work with other parts of their lives. What problems does this cause? How can this problem be overcome?

Work-life balance has been a common discussion among younger generations as they have more tendencies to care about their mental health compared to older generations. Alas, a vast majority of people find it hard to find a harmony between job performance and personal well-being. This particular issue may be caused by the intense working ambition which overshadows the need to fulfil other life aspects. In this essay, I will talk about the way to overcome this setback. Taking a closer look at the roots of the issue, society tends to seek a higher employment role, which can be obtained by reaching certain targets or requirements set by the company. As a result, they may overwork themselves to the point where they are unable to maintain their social lives and physical well-being. For instance, a marketing employee is aiming to get promoted by the end of the year, which urges him to work overtime for three months straight and sacrifice a significant amount of his leisure time to reach that goal. Thus, if the work ambition outweighs the other needs, it will be hard to balance all life aspects and reach the so-called work-life balance. Consequently, the public needs to be more aware of the danger of neglecting other parts of their lives for job matters as it can pile up and cause long-term physical and spiritual issues. For example, the depression rates and suicidal tendencies of the working class in Japan's urban environment have reached an alarming number as the society embraces a hustle culture. Other than that, the imbalance of the work-life aspect is the culprit of the deteriorating health conditions of modern society because of the unhealthy lifestyle that usually follows. Hence, enhancing the awareness of physical and social health can help the community to take care of the other parts of their lives rather than too much focus on the occupational aspect. To summarize, the ambitious trait related to work matters affects the poor fulfilment of personal well-being and has to be stopped by raising public awareness about the danger that follows. Finally, a wise man once said, "Anything that is too much is not necessarily good".