The increase in the number of privately-owned cars is having a negative impact on both our towns and the environment. What can individuals and the government do to reduce this problem?

In today's modern world, owning a vehicle has become a basic necessity of life. But a large number of cars are also creating ill-effects on us and the environment. This essay will discuss the possible causes of this problem and put forward several solutions for this issue. The predominant factors resulting in an increase of privately-owned four-wheelers are time-saving and convenience. In other words, people prefer to buy a car so that we can reach their desired destination on time. For instance, It takes one hour for me to reach office in a bus whereas, it only takes thirty minutes if I take my car. Additionally, convenience is another aspect of this problem. People can travel at any time of the day and do not have to depend on the public transport schedule. For example, if someone has a doctor's appointment and miss have to be there before 9 AM, they can not wait for the bus. Nevertheless, there are potential solutions that could be effective in decreasing this issue. First of all, the government can help in improving public transport by increasing the number of buses and metro trains. If more buses and local trains would be available, then people would tend to travel in them rather than their cars. Furthermore, people can also help by travelling on public transport or pooling. People working in the same area can travel together and take a single vehicle to their work. This will reduce the traffic condition in the cities and towns and will also help in decreasing pollution. In conclusion, a rise in the sales of privately-owned four-wheelers are creating problems in cities and have a negative impact on the environment. However, with the support of the government and people together will result in overcoming this issue.