It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In this modern world, a number of successful athletes and musicians is rising more than ever before. It is a commonly accepted view that certain individuals are born talented for things such as sport or music. Yet, some people argue that all children are capable of becoming a professional sportsman or musical performer. Firstly, people who reach the highest level in their career, be it sports or music, are often uniquely talented. For example, remarkable football skills of Messi and Ronaldo, or the extraordinary ability of Beethoven to visualize melody after he became deaf, are capabilities that are hardly achievable by ordinary people. Thus, the chances that innate abilities can affect an individual’s level of success in their musical or sports careers are considerable. This is why it can be argued that some people are born with the talent for certain things. Nevertheless, even the most talented people would not be able to develop the set of skills needed without taking years of training. For instance, if we examine the lives of top performers in any field of sport or melody, we would realize that these people did not have any inborn attributes that are normally associated with geniuses. In fact, they spent a considerable amount of time perfecting their acts whether be it singing or a particular kind of move in sports. Therefore, this makes it clear that, with great commitment, dedication and passion, every child can master certain ability. In conclusion, both views concerning the impact of talent on successfulness in areas such as sport and music have strong supports. However, I firmly believe that, although some people might be naturally talented, any child or person can become a top performer in their chosen domain with enough time spent in practice.