In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

In recent times, crime is becoming an increasingly popular genre amongst readers and television viewers. In this essay I will explain several reasons for the surge in popularity as well as my take on crime fiction and tv crime dramas. In my view, I believe they also have a significant negative impact on society. The reason behind the rising popularity of crime novels and TV drama lies with the fact that sensational stories attract more viewers or readers. More specifically, people are keen on putting themselves in the shoes of the characters in these stories. Unlike their normal social position in real life, characters in crime fiction are always involved in unexpected issues related to violence or nudity. On top of that, what is depicted in dramas is also similar to what actually happens in many countries. For instance, many thrilling movies I have watched show the dark side of those areas manipulated by drug deals with machine guns or the corruption in police forces, which people experience in real life. In my opinion, because novels and dramas are an effective medium to sway the mindset of people, crime fiction can have a negative influence on society. When the mass media focuses on producing violent and sensational crimes due to its popularity, it may not only lead to fear of crime among the public, but also normalize criminal activities in society. Even worse, children might imitate the behavior they have seen on the screen. To sum up, the public is increasingly fascinated with stories about crime. Nevertheless, I believe that instead of emphasizing the stardom of crime, every such novel and tv series should convey the lesson of peace and justice for all.