With divorce rates and family breakdowns increasing globally, it is generally accepted that families today are not close as they used to be. Discuss the causes of this problem and offer some possible solutions to it.

Indeed, divorce rates are dramatically rising in recent decades, and it is common to see that family members are feeling distant comparing with the past. Two main reasons caused the issues above. First of all, the transformation of traditional family structure leads to increasing dual-earner couples in modern society, which causes the ignorance of child parenting and caring while spending overload time on work. It is not difficult to imagine that children who grow up in this kind of environment would be a lack of communication with their parents. In a result, the family bonds are less tightness. Furthermore, with the improvement of technology, mobile phones, computers and internet occupy most of the spare time in our daily life. In the past, family members sit together watching tv and playing games for entertaining; but now, contemporary young generations prefer to surf the internet instead of staying with families. This change causes alienation between family members. To solve the problem, there are several actions that governments and individuals could take. Firstly, the authority could make labour laws to assist parents to balance their life between family and work. In that case, parents might be able to give thoughtful care to their children and strengthen family bonds. Secondly, a simple solution is to have a conscious effort to interact and communicate with families. For example, instead of computer games, individuals could hang out with their families or even go for a overnight short trip during weekends. In conclusion, the alteration of family structures and the development of technology are two explanations of why the closeness of families are worse nowadays. However, various measures can be taken to tackle the problem that is certain to get more families closer to each other.