What could be done to encourage people to buy local products? An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

Nowadays, tons of people choose online shopping over local shopping. Although shopping online has been increasing day by day, however people needs to be encouraged for local shopping because not only online shopping provides advantages, it will also provide disadvantages to clients. This essay will certainly elaborate on both advantages and disadvantages of online shopping and will clarify clearly what measure needs to be taken so that people would go for local shopping rather than online shopping. On the one hand, online shopping has various advantages.It helps people to buy products with a considerably less amount of money than a local shop. For example, if a customer visits a local turtle shop and buys a branded t-shirt, it would cost around 1500 rupees but if the same person purchases that same branded t-shirt from Myntra, a popular online website, it would cost approx 1000 rupees. So the person finally could save around 500 rupees by choosing that online website. On the other hand, disadvantages can also occur in the case of online shopping. While ordering, as people just can see the item virtually though to their mobile or computer without having the opportunity of seeing that product directly via the local store, at the delivery time, sometimes it happens that customers don't receive the same expected product that they ordered at the time of order. To clarify more, let's say, a client order 32-inch t-shirt through Flipkart, an online retail website, but unfortunately, at the time of delivery, the same person received that same sized t-shirt, but it does not fit properly to that customer at all. An important step should be taken to prevent the customer to go for online shopping. One such step is to reduce cost. Local shop owners have to reduce the cost to draw the attention of customers. For example, a local shop owner of Siyaram brand, should minimize the cost of all of its products to a certain amount, so that clients get the willingness to purchase its products. In conclusion, this essay provides a clear picture of a dvantages and disadvantages and also discusses the major step that needs to be taken to get the attention of the customers for local shopping.With keeping in mind regarding all the above factors,a customer can opt whether he/she would go for online shopping or not.