Some people think it is better for children to grow up in the city, while others think that life in the countryside is more suitable. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both places?

There are differences in opinion on whether a child needs to be raised in a city or in the countryside. Both of these options have merits and demerits, which I will elaborate on this essay. The primary advantage of living in urban areas is that it has a better infrastructure to cater to a child's development requirements. The city schools have the latest amenities such as fast internet speed and well-equipped library. Furthermore, cities also have multiple sports clubs, where children can undergo training to become a professional athlete. However, the biggest disadvantage of urban life is pollution and its long-term impact on the health of youngsters. For instance, there is a growing number of asthma cases in children living in metropolitan cities. Contrary to city life, the main advantage of living in the countryside is that people live in joint families. Therefore, elders in the family impart cultural knowledge and provide moral education to the younger generation. Moreover, children develop a healthy daily routine and they are away from all the distractions like clubbing or partying. Having said that, rural areas in general, do not have a university, which limits the student's learning and development. They have to move to the cities if they want to pursue higher education or take professional courses such as medicine or engineering. To conclude, children growing in cities or the countryside have their own benefits and drawbacks. While cities can provide a superior living standard, it comes at a cost of health degradation. On the other hand, rural life can teach social values, however, higher education is not possible there.