The precentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

In the last ten years, the proportion of children with excessive weight has become one of the most concerning issues in Western society and increased by about 20%. The reason behind this problem is unhealthy food and a sedentary lifestyle. As a result, there are several side effects of being overweight, such as physical and mental health problems. There are certain reasons why populations of the western countries, especially low age groups, have gained a great number of weights for the last 10 years. One main factor is cheap processed meals and junky food which children can easily afford to buy without preparing themselves. Moreover, these unhealthy meals mostly taste different than regular home meals, and they also have special advertisement methods to draw juveniles’ attention. The second point is the sedentary life of many children that they are likely to spend most of their time by playing online games or watching TV. They had had active lifestyles before these technological devices gained popularity among young individuals. For instance, most children often preferred to play outside with their friends in fresh air in the past. Overweight might adversely influence the society of Western countries in a number of ways. One of them is physical problems which are related to excessive kilograms gained by children. Mass fatness can make juveniles’ life more challenging because it leads to respiratory issues, difficulties in movement and heart diseases. Secondly, children can face bullying and discrimination at school because of their appearance. Therefore, this has a negative impact on their mental health and studies. In conclusion, meals with extra food chemicals and staying behind screen all day are the major causes underlying the issue which will result in health problems among young individuals.