Many automobiles manufacture created self-driving systems for their vehicles. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of releasing cars with these systems

With the advent of artificial intelligence, many automobile manufactures have started to seek to self-driving technology in vehicles which has helped people dramatically. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of launching cars equipped with these systems. To start with, there are many advantages of self-driving technology. Nowadays, companies for instance Tesla have fully automated autopilot systems that enable people to relax while enjoying their drive. One can enter the start and endpoint of their trip on the navigation software and the car will take them from one point to another. People can attend meetings while driving, which lead to saving hours of time during the commute. They can enjoy their favourite meal, like coffee, or sandwiches without having to keep their hands on the steering wheel. The government also provides full tax benefit on self-driving electric vehicles which saves thousands of dollars of an individual. Moreover, the current system is highly responsive and great for parents who want to spend quality time with their kids not having to focus on the road. Nevertheless, with great Technology comes challenges too. There are many disadvantages of self-driving vehicles. To start with, the automation is not yet fully functional in 90% of the countries neither is safe. Considering it only works with well-marked lanes, instances of accidents due to improper lane changes have occurred in the past. People are still sceptical to fully reply to artificial intelligence. The machinery is high priced, hence not allowing everyone to switch to it. It is not user-friendly especially for senior citizens who might take years to understand already-stated software. It also makes the others look inferior if someone is driving without holding the steering wheel. To conclude, self-driving vehicles are the future of driving. However, there is still a long way to go for the aforementioned technology to be completely reliable and dependable.