Global warming is one of the biggest threats human face in the 21st century and sea levels are continuing to rise at alarming rates. What problems are associated with this and what are some possible solutions? (approximately 250 words)

Global warming is one of the great problems confronting humanity these days that causes several serious consequences such as rising seas, among others. This phenomenon involves many potential problems that affect the lives of human beings and I believe that various feasible measures are taken to prevent and overcome them. On the one hand, two effects already happened. Firstly, water is increasingly invading in coastal areas. This causes soil erosion and intimidates farmland and low–lying islands, in the long term such incidents could lead to the disappearance of large land areas and even some countries. For example, Maldives is extremely vulnerable to rising sea level and faces the very real possibility that the majority of its territory will be underwater by the end of this century. Secondly, a higher tide level also induces heavy rains and unleashes severe storms. Storms generate massive floods that in turn usually lead to the loss of property, lives, and other valuables. Taking China as an illustration, in June of this year, heavy rains have wreaked havoc in central and southwestern China, leaving hundreds dead and disrupting the economy’s post-pandemic recovery. On the other hand, I believe that many actions have been implemented for mitigating such an issue as coping solutions. For these places that are endangered of being swallowed by the oceans such as coastal cities, the drainage systems and seawalls are built up and installed. For instance, the Delta Works is a famous series of construction projects in the southwest of the Netherlands to protect a large area of land around the Rhine-Meuse-Scheldt delta from the sea. Otherwise, for the storm surge problems, the most practice solution is to plant trees and other vegetation to halt deforestation. Normally trees can work in absorbing large amounts of rainwater as lots of raindrops that land on leaves evaporate straight into the air, preventing soil erosion, and resisting storm winds, which will go a long way in helping mankind minimize damages during floods and storms. In Vietnam, the government encourages people inhabiting coastal provinces to plant mangroves as a protective measure against storms and floods. In conclusion, stemming the rising tides caused by increasing global temperatures is one of the foremost challenges human being must tackle because it comes with several environmental problems such as wiped lands by the oceans and watery catastrophes, but governments and individuals of each country are working on various methods for such a work.