Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Some argue that college students should have the freedom to choose elective courses in addition to their main studies. Meanwhile, others think that they should only focus on their main studies and prepare for advanced qualifications. Even though focusing attention and efforts on the main subject is important because they have better preparations for their professional certifications, being able to pick additional courses will enrich their capability and benefit their futures. On the one hand, pursuing a professional qualification requires a long preparation and consumes a lot of time. This is because to get a professional certification, students should go through a series of tests. The certification will test students ’ theoretical and appraisal capabilities on a case basis. For instance, for finance students, there is a CFA certification. This is a prestigious one and the test encompasses a wide range of topics from financial decision-making to ethics code, thus they should diligently prepare for this. In Indonesia, there are only around 300 professionals who are qualified for this certification due to its difficulty. However, spending all of their time solely on studying their fields will limit the students ’ skill set. On the other hand, the freedom to pick additional courses from their specialization will widen the students ’ capability. In the real industrial work environment, graduates will have to face complex challenges that not only require their capability in their fields but also require a wider understanding of different fields of study. For instance, many universities in the UK now offer elective courses in computer programming for finance students. This is to provide comprehensive skills to their graduates. Thus they can use their programming ability to process large data to support the decision-making process. In conclusion, although dedicating time and effort to one field of study makes better preparation for their professional qualification, giving students opportunities to opt for additional courses will diversify their skill set.