Popular events like the football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Sporting events have always been used as a cure to acrimonious relationships between countries. Many people believe that popular sporting events accentuate in easing border tensions and promote nationalism in a safe manner. I believe this is true considering the positive developments seen among the nations during and after these kinds of events. To begin with, bigger gaming arenas like the Olympics or Commonwealth games have brought the nations together and have given an impetus in improving ties among nations. For example, In recent times, the government of both India and Pakistan were involved to conduct the series of matches, and diplomats from both the nations started visiting each other to improve and make the relations amicable. Thus, these stages provide an opportunity to mend the ties between the two nations and improve them for a better future. In addition to this, peaceful nationalism is on display while the matches are taking place between the players and supporters of each country. Barring very few incidents, the multi-nation sporting stages provide for a peaceful view of spectators enjoying the game in the same stadium where their counterparts are also present. For instance, it is seen that adrenaline rush during a football match is high among players and supporters, yet the game is played with the sporting spirit where players shake hands and hug each other after match completion while spectators can be seen congratulating their rival counterparts. Hence, safe nationalist emotions are in full view in major sporting events by both players as well as their fans. In conclusion, it is essential that to promote peace, harmony among nations games at a large International level are promoted as people like to enjoy these games as a mere competition rather than depicted as a war.