Crime is a big problem in the world; many believe that nothing can be done to prevent it. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

There has been an increase in the rate of criminals around the world every year. Therefore, crime is one of the most urgent issues that have been facing recently. The general view has been that there are no preventive measures to stop people who engage in illegal acts. I totally disagree with this statement and believe some solutions can control the problem of lawlessness. One of the possible approaches is that the government can implement some effective policies. In other words, authorities should impose stricter punishments on offenders to raise the public's awareness of the significance of legal compliance. Hence, those who attend to commit a violation must be wary before action, otherwise, criminals will receive appropriate punishment for their illegal behaviour. By enforcing the strict rules and regulation, the number of violent acts will be preventable. In addition, reducing the rate of unemployment will contribute to deterring criminal activities. Most people who come from underprivileged families tend to resort to illegalities to make ends meet are the result of joblessness. Therefore, local authorities should create more opportunities for the number of jobless individuals to seek a job. As a result, not only the living standard of the poor will improve, but also the crime level will considerably decrease. In conclusion, although crime is a controversial problem in every country in the world, the situation can be tackled by some methods. Implementing strict policies and offering more jobs to citizens are possible measures to prevent the public from criminal activities.